Dear Parents and Students,

I hope that you’re all as excited as I am to begin what I hope will be a most successful year at Gateway. My name is Mr. Beattie, and I am looking forward to working with, and getting to know each of you this year. It is my firm belief that passion is the most influential and inspirational quality that an educator can possess. When a teacher is passionate about teaching and learning, that passion can have a contagious effect on children, thereby instilling a genuine love of learning. Also, I have come to understand the positive affect a safe, nurturing, and respectful learning environment can have on students. When children feel included, welcomed, engaged, and most of all valued as individuals, they feel more comfortable and confident in their environment and begin to find joy in learning. I believe respecting children as human beings is one of the most important aspects of teaching.

I hope to achieve open communication with all the parents striving for the success of all our students, doing so will make it easier for all our kids to perform to their fullest potential. I think the best way to go about this is by developing a team approach in which parents, students, and staff here at Gateway work together to ensure to health and well being of our children. On that note, I strongly encourage you to attend the October conference in order to be actively involved in your child’s education, and I look forward to meeting you all.

I am available to address any questions or concerns that you may have at any time throughout the year. I can best be reached via email, robert.beattie@tdsb.on.ca or leave a comment on the class site, mrbeattie.wordpress.com or call the office at 416 397 2970, and I will get back to you as soon as I can.

Sincerely,

Mr. Beattie

Leave a Reply

